Posted by: Moxie | November 1, 2010

Emotions

So, for those of you on the internets that haven’t heard, I’m now in the family way.  On stork watch.  Got a bun in the oven.  Up the duff.  With child.  Oh for Christ’s sake, I’m pregnant.

This blog was certainly not started as a pregnancy blog, considering that at its origins I was adamantly opposed to thinking of considering possibly maybe someday in the far off future mulling over pondering the potential prospect of having a child.  I started the blog when I was transitioning from med student to resident.  A pretty overwhelming time.  A lot of uncertainty and questions and doubts and fears and excitement.  A time a bit like now.  In fact, I may have even used that metaphor way back when.  This here old blog was invaluable with that transition.  It kept me sane.  It let me say the things I needed to say but couldn’t say them because I wasn’t even sure which way was up.  And eventually, I figured out which was was up and the emotions calmed and I was okay.  And my writing slowed.  And then pretty much stopped.  It wasn’t that I didn’t like writing anymore, it’s just I didn’t need as I had before.

But I need it now.  So for a while, the blog is going to be a bit of a baby blog.  Sure, I’ll probably throw in a good work story now and then, but for the most part, it’ll be about vomiting and fear and ultrasounds and getting fat.  Hey wait, that could be a work story. . .

If you’re not interested in reading baby stories, I totally get it.  If it helps, I promise to still swear a bit.  And I won’t change the background to some flowers, hearts and puppies orgy of vomituous sweetness bullshit.

We’ll see what happens.


Responses

  1. Congrats! I’ll definitely be following. Also, because you did play some small role in calming our nerves when things were uncertain for my wife’s pregnancy. And thank you again for that.

  2. Congratulations!! Can’t wait to read your thoughts on this process. :)

  3. Doctor Moxie,

    Oh, I’ve been there. Call me anytime. Or between the hours of 8 and 9 p.m. West Coast time before I collapse in bed after working a fulltime job and chasing a toddler around.

    P.S. Never say never…….I’m still trying to learn that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

